Vice-Presidential election today — OSNepal

Vice-Presidential election today

LC (KTM) March 17, 2023 0

Voting for the election to the post of Vice-President is taking place today. Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) of the CPN (UML), Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party and Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party are in the race.

All the preparations for voting taking place at Lhotse Hall of the Federal Parliament Building, New Baneshwor from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm have completed, according to Assistant Election Officer, Amrita Kumari Sharma.

Separate voting centres have been determined for the members of Federal Parliament and Province Assembly.

Two-types of ballot papers have been printed for the vice-presidential election-2079. The ballot for the Federal Parliament members is of red colour while it is of green colour for the Province Assembly members.

Name and photo of candidates have been printed in the ballot papers. The weightage of a vote cast by a member of Federal Parliament will be equivalent to 79 whereas the weightage of a vote cast by PA member will be equivalent to 48.

There are 332 voters of the Federal Parliament and 550 voters of the PA in the election. Arrangements have been made to count vote shortly after voting, said Sharma. Vice President shall be assigned to look after affairs in the absence of the President. The tenure of the Vice President is five years.
This is the third vice presidential election since the country adopted federal democratic republic system in 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *